Friday, 23 February 2018

PAGB Print Club Championship at Ellesmere Port

Sunday 25th October 2015

On Sunday 25th October the three top clubs from the EAF Club Championships held last March took their prints to Ellesmere Port to compete in the PAGB Print Club Championship.  The hall was at capacity at 300 and all were treated to excellent images throughout the three championships.
In the first round all 37 clubs from across the UK competed together.  There was a broad diversity of images from nature, landscape, creative and sport as you would expect.  At the end of that round unfortunately none of the EAF clubs scored high enough to go forward as one of the top 8 clubs to the Final.  To put things into perspective, neither did Smethwick PS!
Beyond Group, Ipswich&DPS and Thurrock CC all then competed in the Plate championship where Beyond Group came second (to Smethwick PS), on 66 points.  The top score was 67, so very close indeed.  Thurrock CC came =10th on 62 points and Ipswich +DPS came =20th on 59 points.  It is interesting to see that only 3 points separated Thurrock and Ipswich but that meant ten places!
Many thanks and congratulations go to all three EAF clubs for representing the EAF at the PAGB event.
Awards for individual prints are also given on the day and I am pleased to report that the Richard Walton award and PAGB Silver Medal went to Roger Hance of Ipswich&DPS for his image ‘9-10-You’re Out!’

Each year a small award is given to the highest achieving ‘Rookie’ (first time competing at the PAGB Club Championship).  There were six Rookie clubs on the day, one of which was Thurrock CC who picked up Rod Whellans’ award of a box of ‘Heroes’ chocolates.  Well done to Thurrock CC for that!
The 2016 Club Championship information has now been sent to all Club Secretaries and is also on the Downloads Page/Downloadable Documents page of the EAF website.
Marilyn Steward
Championship Secretary
27th Oct 2015

Copyright © 2009-2017 East Anglian Federation of Photographic Societies. All rights reserved.

Powered by Joomla! Styled by JoomlaShine. Bolted together by David Steel. Maintained by Steve Robinson.